April 16, 2014

Excerpt: The Idea of Him by Holly Peterson







Mary Crawford is a once aspiring screenwriter turned successful public relations executive, mother of two young children, and wife of a hotshot magazine editor whose power base spans the worlds of finance, fashion, culture, entertainment, and society. At 34, she finds herself at a crossroads: between the office and her home, her life has become an endless rotation of people pleasing-whether pulling rabbits out of hats for her mogul boss, entertaining advertisers and phony A-listers for her husband's magazine, or making elaborate costumes for children's school plays. At least, that is, until she meets a head turning, traffic stopping beauty at the bar of the famed Four Seasons Grill Room-where many of the novel's players regularly convene-and shortly thereafter finds the same woman and her husband in an apparently compromising position in her own apartment. And so begins the story of two very different women bound by similar missions-to uncover the crimes and betrayals of various men in their lives and finally put their own interests front and center. For Mary this ultimately means leaving a husband who is ideal in theory but not in practice, and deciding to risk security for self-fulfillment and a new life on her own. Like so many women, Mary fell for the man she married when she was in her twenties only to realize years later that it wasn't him she fell for as much as it was the idea of him-the idea of a savior who would protect and provide and ferry her from her past into the future. But the guy who seemed so right at the time turned out to be nothing more than a fantasy. ~Goodreads


The Idea of Him
By: Holly Peterson
Published: April 1, 2014
William Morrow, 384pgs
Purchase Links: Amazon, Barnes & Noble


Excerpt: 




CHAPTER 19 FOCUSED AND FRUSTRATED

He had no doubt betrayed “us” again in some form or fashion because things were going on around me that he was lying about. He would do that in the future. I would either smile through or ignore the signs in the future. I would feel angry and lost and alone in the future. I would tear up photos again in the future that represented romantic ideals.
“It doesn’t mean what, Wade?”
He didn’t answer my last question; I just heard his rattled breathing on the other end of the line. I looked around at the mess in front of me. How the hell was I supposed to finish my work with this bizarre, awkward, unfinished, hurtful conversation looping in my head?
“Wade,” I said. “I can’t do this now.”
I hung up and suddenly I was back in that mangled plane, in the snow, desperate for a protector.  Was Wade just giving more of the same unsafe feeling I’d wanted to get away from? And it hit me that I hadn't so much forged a new life in marrying Wade; I'd simply come full circle.  Strange how we often seek what we hope to escape.


About the Author: 


HOLLY PETERSON is the author of the New York Times and international best seller, The Manny. She was a Contributing Editor for Newsweek and editor-at-large for Tina Brown’s Talk magazine. She was also an Emmy Award–winning producer for ABC News for more than a decade, where she cov¬ered global politics. Her writing has been published in the New York Times, Newsweek, Talk, the Daily Beast, Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, and other publications.                                       Online: www.HollyPeterson.com            www.Facebook.com/HollyPetersonny                                                                           Twitter: @HollyPetersonNY

April 3, 2014

REVIEW: The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger


The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend





Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn't think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face. But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him. Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.~Goodreads

The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend
By: Kody Keplinger
Published: September 7, 2010
Little Brown, 280pgs
Source: Library


I love, love this story. It was such an exciting fast pace read. There were situations that tugged at my heart strings and made me want to cry. This book covered so many things and issues teens deal with such as self-esteem, name calling.

At times I just wanted to reach into the book and hug Bianca. I mean seriously someone can only deal with so much in their lives before they crack. The two main characters were so real I felt as if I could have been either of them like my life was being read back to me.

You don’t realize how it sometimes hard to deal with the situations you face and sometimes running and not facing your issues seem so much easier. But, in reality they never go away sometimes they just get worse.

Take a cynical character, toss her world upside down and see how she deals with it. She’s very vivacious and a strong character and I loved being able to see that she had weaknesses too, this is what made her so realistic to me. In everyone and everything there is always some good and sometimes you are lucky enough to find it.

This is a book that I wished I didn't wait so long to read but I am definitely going to dive right into Shut Out now. This book is about finding yourself and realizing that it’s okay to sometimes need someone to confide in, that it’s only human to show your weaknesses.


Thank you Ms. Keplinger for writing such an honest and heartbreaking real story.

October 30, 2013

Blog tour: Relic (Books of Eva #1) by Heather Terrell

Relic (Books of Eva #1) by Heather Terrell YA dystopia Hardcover/eBook, 288 pages Publication: October 29th 2013 by Soho Teen  The truth will test you...For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in The Testing, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years.Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone.But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.
GET THE FREE PREQUEL CHRONICLE, HERE 
Guest Post:

10 Surprising Things About the Author


1. I am obsessed with all things cinnamon. It began with cinnamon Jolly Ranchers when I was a kid, and has now progressed with a fascination with the different types of cinnamon. I especially love Vietnamese cassia.
2. I love to travel, and while I have been fortunate enough to explore a lot of the world, I still have Egypt, Jordan, Israel, and the Arctic regions -- not a shocker given the RELIC setting -- on my bucket list.
3. I met my husband in the Hong Kong airport. When we tell people that we met on line, they always assume we mean over the internet -- but we actually mean on the passport control line!
4. I was a lawyer for over a decade, and -- who knows? -- may one day return to the practice of law.
5. I am the oldest of six children; my brothers and sisters live all over the country, and I’m inspired by their varied life choices.
6. When I’m writing, I have to listen to the same music over and over; I really can’t deviate. For RELIC, I listened to Coldplay’s Mylo Xyloto and Mumford & Sons’ Babel so many times I lost count. I’m transitioning my music for the sequel to RELIC because I really can’t listen to either album again.
7. I adore museums, and one of my favorite places in the world is the airy room that houses the Ancient Egyptian Temple of Dendur in the Metropolitan Museum in New York City, where I used to live. When I really need inspiration for my writing, somehow this place does the trick. 
8. I enjoy scuba diving. I got certified on Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, and the most spectacular place I’ve ever done dives is in the ocean around the Fijian island of Savusavu.
9. My favorite season is fall, probably because I love all thing pumpkin -- pumpkin lattes, pumpkin bread, pumpkin soup -- and the changing of the leaves, of course.
10. I have always wanted to be an archaeologist (maybe that’s not so surprising given that Eva in RELIC is one!).

About the Author:

Heather Terrell worked as a commercial litigator in New York City for over ten years, but she has always been obsessed with myth, lore, and the gap between history and the truth. This preoccupation has led to several loosely factual historical novels (The Chrysalis, The Map Thief, Brigid of Kildare) and the pure-lore Fallen Angel series. Relic is the first installment of The Books of Eva series. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family. Visit her at her website or Facebook

September 27, 2013

Secrets of the Moon Excerpt & Giveaway


sotmbanner (1)
Thank you Dianne at Oops I Read Again for the opportunity to be a part of this blog tour. You can follow the tour here.

September 5, 2013

Guest Post & Giveaway: Ivy Entwined by Laura Simcox



I am excited to be a part of this blog tour. Today I have a guest post from the author of Ivy Entwined, Laura Simcox. Enjoy!


August 22, 2013

Release Day Blitz: Wavecrossed by Andrea Colt







A young-adult paranormal novel about selkies, tasers, kissing and secrets.                                                               To Cassandra Kelleher, trust is a dirty word. A teenage selkie who grew up on land, all she wants is to free her family from the man who stole their sealskins long ago. With her twin brother Brennan losing hope and her window of opportunity disappearing like the beach at high tide, she’ll try anything. Before long, however, Cassandra can’t tell whether her biggest threat is the man holding her family captive, a classmate who’s discovered her secret, or her own paranoia. Battling broken friendships and alarming romantic entanglements, Cassandra finds that trust could be the key to winning her family’s freedom … or losing her own.


Wavecrossed by Andrea Colt
Published: August 22, 2013
Purchase:  Amazon, Barnes & Noble


I am really excited to read this book and happy to be a part of this tour. Stop by on August 27th to checkout my review.

The author was awesome enough to provide you with the first chapter of the book. You can check that out below.


About the Author:


andreacolt.pngAndrea Colt grew up reading and squabbling with her identical twin. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia with her husband, a fridge full of cheese, and two feline muses. Visit andreacolt.com to get to know her better.

Website/ Twitter/Facebook/Newsletter sign-up


Wavecrossed Tour Banner.png

 
Imagination Designs